About Us

History of the Association

Since the Academic Motorsports Club Zurich (AMZ) was founded in 2006 by students of ETH Zurich it has produced a prototype to compete in various «Formula Student» competitions in Europe every year. After having built three cars powered by combustion engines, AMZ has moved forward to developing electric racing cars since 2010. The association is financially independent and supported by numerous financial, manufacturing and parts sponsors as well as institutes of various Swiss universities. AMZ is the first Swiss team in Formula Student.

The association offers students the opportunity to put their acquired theoretical knowledge into practice in a highly complex engineering environment. During this process they gather experience in the fields of leadership, innovation and quality management, cost analysis, project and product documentation as well as risk control.

Organisation

AMZ offers an active or passive membership. Active members design the racecar for the upcoming Formula Student season, whereas the passive members mostly consist of so-called «veterans». Veterans are students that have participated in Formula Student for at least one year. They assist the core team with their knowledge and their experience.

The association is listed in the commercial register of canton Zurich (CH-020.6.001.279-8). Its executive board consists of chairman Fabio Widmer, co-chairman Jonas Abeken, accountant Stefan Hutzli and one observer.

Places

Besides the office located in the CLA building of ETH Zurich, AMZ also operates from a workshop at Technopark Zurich. Both locations are available courtesy of ETH Zurich's Institute of Virtual Manufacturing.

Participation

AMZ Racing Team is always looking for enthusiastic young engineers! You are a student at a Swiss university, willing to learn, to be productive and fascinated by motorsports? If so, then come join the world's most successful Swiss Formula Student Electric team! Take the chance to gather valuable project experience which will – besides offering an enjoyable time – put you in a good position when it comes to job applications. Besides contributing as a volunteer you can join the team through the following programs:

ETH Zurich

Bachelor Mechanical Engineering Master Mechanical Engineering Bachelor Electrical Engineering Master Electrical Engineering
  • Focus Project
    Prof. Dr. Pavel Hora, in the 5th and 6th semester:
    14 credits
  • Bachelor Thesis
    Subject embedded in Focus Project, free choice of subject, supported by several professors of D-MAVT:
    12 credits
  • Semester Thesis
    Subject embedded in Focus Project, free choice of subject, supported by several professors of D-MAVT:
    8 credits
  • Master Thesis
    Subject embedded in Focus Project, free choice of subject, supported by several professors of D-MAVT:
    30 credits
  • PPS
    in the 3rd and 4th semester:
    credits according to commitment
  • Group Work
    in the 5th and 6th semester:
    6 credits
  • Semester Thesis
    Subject embedded in Focus Project, free choice of subject, supported by several professors of D-ITET:
    8 credits
  • Master Thesis
    Subject embedded in Focus Project, free choice of subject, supported by several professors of D-ITET:
    30 credits

 

University of Applied Sciences Lucerne

Bachelor Electrical Engineering
  • Industrial Project and Bachelor Thesis combined: 18 credits
    Prerequisites: at least 132 credits acquired before starting the Bachelor Thesis

Über uns

Vereinsgeschichte

Der Akademische Motorsportverein Zürich (AMZ) wurde 2006 von Studierenden der ETH Zürich gegründet und entwickelt jährlich einen Prototypen für verschiedene «Formula Student»-Wettbewerbe in Europa. Nach drei Fahrzeugen mit Verbrennungsmotoren baut der AMZ seit 2010 rein elektrisch angetriebene Rennwagen. Der Verein ist finanziell unabhängig und wird von zahlreichen Finanz-, Fertigungs- und Sachsponsoren sowie Instituten verschiedener Schweizer Hochschulen unterstützt. Der AMZ ist das erste Schweizer Team in der «Formula Student».

Der Verein bietet Studenten eine Plattform, um das in der Theorie erarbeitete Ingenieurwissen am Praxisbeispiel eines hochkomplexen Produktes anzuwenden. Dabei machen die Mitglieder wichtige Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Teamführung, Innova­tions- und Qualitätsmanagement, Kostenkontrolle, Projekt- und Produktdoku­men­tation sowie Risikokontrolle.

Organisation

Der AMZ besteht aus Aktiv- und Passivmitgliedern. Erstere entwickeln jeweils den Rennwagen für die aktuelle Formula-Student-Saison, letztere zählen mehrheitlich zur Gruppe der so genannten «Veteranen», die bereits ein oder mehrere Saisons in der Formula Student mitgewirkt haben. Sie stehen dem Kernteam mit ihrem Wissen und ihrer Erfahrung beratend zur Seite.

Der Verein ist im Handelsregister des Kantons Zürich eingetragen (CH-020.6.001.279-8). Der Vorstand setzt sich zusammen aus dem Präsidenten Fabio Widmer, dem Vizepräsidenten Jonas Abeken, dem Rechnungsführer Stefan Hutzli und einem Beistzenden.

Räumlichkeiten

Neben einem Büro im CLA-Gebäude der ETH Zürich arbeitet der AMZ in einer Werkstatt im Technopark Zürich. Beide Räumlichkeiten werden dem Verein freundlicherweise vom Institut für Virtuelle Produktion der ETH Zürich zur Verfügung gestellt.

Mitmachen

Das AMZ Racing Team sucht jederzeit begeisterte Nachwuchs-Ingenieure! Bist du Student an einer Schweizer Fachhochschule, Universität oder der ETH Zürich und ausserdem lernwillig, leistungsbereit und vom Motorsport begeistert? Dann bewirb dich bei uns und nutze die Chance, beim erfolgreichsten Formula-Student-Electric Team der Welt mitzuarbeiten! Profitiere von der einmaligen Möglichkeit praktische Projekterfahrung zu sammeln, welche dir – neben viel Spass – einen entscheidenden Vorteil bei der Jobsuche verschaffen wird. Nebst freiwilliger Mitarbeit zur Erweiterung des persönlichen Horizonts werden folgende Programme angeboten:

ETH Zürich

Bachelor Maschinenbau Master Maschinenbau Bachelor Elektrotechnik Master Elektrotechnik
  • Fokusprojekt
    Prof. Dr. Pavel Hora, im 5. und 6. Semester:
    14 Credits
  • Bachelorarbeit
    Thematik eingebettet im Fokusprojekt, freie Themenwahl, unterstützt durch mehrere Professoren des D-MAVT:
    12 Credits
  • Semesterarbeit
    Thematik eingebettet im Fokusprojekt, freie Themenwahl, unterstützt durch mehrere Professoren des D-MAVT:
    8 Credits
  • Masterarbeit
    Thematik eingebettet im Fokusprojekt, freie Themenwahl, unterstützt durch mehrere Professoren des D-MAVT:
    30 Credits
  • PPS
    im 3. und 4. Semester:
    Credits je nach Einsatz
  • Gruppenarbeit
    im 5. und 6. Semester:
    6 Credits
  • Semesterarbeit
    Thematik eingebettet im Projekt, freie Themenwahl, unterstützt durch mehrere Professoren des D-ITET:
    8 Credits
  • Masterarbeit
    Thematik eingebettet im Projekt, freie Themenwahl, unterstützt durch mehrere Professoren des D-ITET:
    30 Credits

 

Hochschule Luzern

Bachelor Elektrotechnik
  • Industrieprojekt und Bachelor-Diplomarbeit zusammen: 18 Credits
    Bedingung: vor Beginn der Bachelor-Diplomarbeit mindestens 132 Credits erworben